NEADS National Student Awards Program 2016

The NEADS National Student Awards Program is offered to encourage full access to post-secondary education for persons with disabilities, who often have greater barriers to participation in higher education, as well as extra costs because of their disabilities. Students must currently be registered in and continuing at a post-secondary institution and provide documented proof of registration as part of the application and on receipt of the award. The award will be offered to outstanding applicants who meet the criteria of the program. The awards are paid directly to the post-secondary institution (in the students accounts) that the recipients are attending to defray the cost of tuition fees for post-secondary study.


  • Applicants must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada
  • Applicants must have a permanent disability*
  • Applicants must be currently registered in and returning to a full-time program of study at an accredited Canadian post-secondary college or university. Full-time status is at least 40% of a full course load.

*For the purpose of these awards, a permanent disability is a permanent functional limitation which affects the ability of the student to participate fully in post-secondary education.


  • Strong commitment to your academic discipline
  • Exemplary record of volunteerism and/or employment
  • Demonstrated potential to be an outstanding participant in the community

Value and number available

  • NEADS National Student Awards (6, $3,000 each)
  • NEADS Holly Bartlett Memorial Award (1, $1,000)
  • NEADS Christine Nieder Memorial Award (1, $1,000)
  • AMI Robert Pearson Memorial Scholarship (2 at a value of $5,000 each)

The deadline to apply is April 30, 2016.

Visit the Program website for more information and to apply online:

Funding for Study Abroad

Have you ever thought about studying abroad but were worried about the cost? Are you already planning to study abroad and looking for funding? University of Calgary International is pleased to announce that the International Study Travel Grant competition is now open! There is half a million dollars in funding available to students through this award, making this the ideal time to apply.

The eligibility requirements are simple:

  • You must be a University of Calgary degree-seeking student, participating in a University of Calgary study abroad program, earning at least 1 course (3 units) of academic credit.
  • Your study abroad program must commence between April 1, 2016 and March 31, 2017
  • You need a minimum 2.80 GPA over your last 8 courses
  • You cannot have previously received funding through the International Studentship or International Study Travel Grant competitions.

Applying is easy. The online application as well as detailed instructions can be found at

Deadline to apply: Tuesday, March 15, 2016

There’s more money where that came from, including the new Eyes High 50th Anniversary Exchange Awards of up to $3,000 each for study at one of 48 designated partner universities. Semester and yearlong exchange space at many of these partners is still available for 2016/17 on a first come, first considered basis, so don’t wait for this opportunity of a lifetime! For details on this and many other potential sources of funding, see

Studying abroad is cheaper than you think. To find the perfect study abroad program for you, see and while you’re there, be sure to enter the contest to win an additional $200!

Siobhan Isabella Reid Memorial Scholarship 2016

The Siobhan Isabella Reid Memorial Scholarship was established in 1982.

One scholarship will be presented annually to a full-time post secondary student in Alberta. The amount of the scholarship is $1,000 and will be awarded to a student enrolled in a program which will lead to that individual being able to assist children and adults with learning disabilities. The student may be enrolled in any faculty of any university within Alberta or in a college degree program.

Consult the award website for criteria and application information:

The deadline to apply is May 15, 2016.